News and Announcements


2018 PCBL Championship Series

Game 1 – August 2

Albert Lea Lakers 4, Storm Lake Whitecaps 1

Game 2 – August 3

Albert Lea Lakers 12, Storm Lake Whitecaps 11

Albert Lea win best-of three series 2-0.


Regular season pennant winner Albert Lea Lakers and 2017 champion Storm Lake Whitecaps have booked their spot in the PCBL Championship Series. The best-of three will begin on Thursday night in Albert Lea.

PCBL Playoffs bracket:

PCBL Playoffs begin Monday

Posted by Scott Ludwig at Jul 29, 2018 4:45PM PDT ( 0 Comments )

Season two of the Pioneer Collegiate Baseball League will come to a conclusion this week when the playoffs will decide a champion. Albert Lea Lakers (29-5) captured the regular season pennant and top seed for the playoffs which features all five teams.

The record-setting Lakers will face fourth-seeded Bancroft Bandits (13-20) in a best-of three series beginning on Monday in Albert Lea. While the Lakers dominated the head-to-head series this summer winning six of nine Bancroft had the most success of any PCBL team. The teams split the last four games played each winning a pair.

A three-team round robin will determine the second finalist. With Peak of Ames (6-18) playing a limited schedule this format will still allow each team a fair shot at advancing. Defending league champion Storm Lake Whitecaps (18-18) and Carroll Merchants (17-18) also will face Ames.

6:45 PM Peak of Ames at Carroll Merchants
6:45 PM Game 1: Bancroft Bandits at Albert Lea Lakers

6:45 PM Peak of Ames at Storm Lake Whitecaps
6:45 PM Game 2: Albert Lea Lakers at Bancroft Bandits

6:45 PM Storm Lake Whitecaps at Carroll Merchants
6:45 PM Game 3 (if nec): Bancroft Bandits at Albert Lea Lakers

PCBL All-Star Game rosters

Posted by Donnie Roberts at Jul 18, 2018 11:21AM PDT ( 0 Comments )

In just its second season, the Pioneer Collegiate Baseball League (PCBL) is ready to host its first league all-star game. The event will take place on Sunday, July 22 at Merchants Park in Carroll, Iowa.

Day-long festivities include a player showcase beginning at 11 AM. A home run derby is scheduled for 2:30 PM to be followed by the game which will feature teams made up of PCBL players from four-year schools taking on Junior college all-stars.

2018 PCBL team rosters

Team University
Robin Allen, Albert Lea – Eckerd College
Isaak Bustamante, Bancroft – Nyack College
Cesar Capellan, Albert Lea – Eastern New Mexico University
Cole Edgens, Albert Lea – William Carey University
Brady Harpenau, Storm Lake – Briar Cliff University
Mitchell Keeran, Albert Lea – Waldorf University
Matt Krambeck, Ames – Des Moines Area CC
Thomas Krause, Albert Lea – North Dakota State University
Jake Lotz, Carroll – Lewis University
Reed Pegram, Ames – William Jewell College
Christian Pena, Storm Lake – Eastern Illinois University
Joey Ponder, Albert Lea – Waldorf University
Peyton Renning, Storm Lake – Buena Vista University
Jacob Rosales, Carroll – Missouri Baptist University
Ben Swords, Carroll – Webster University
Anthony Torreullas, Bancroft – Nyack College
Keanu Van Kuren, Albert Lea – Texas Southern University
AJ Vasquez, Bancroft – Nyack College
Spencer Wyant, Storm Lake – Morningside College

Jesse Bloom, Albert Lea – McCook CC
Alexi Cazarin, Carroll – Scott CC
Josh Dudden, Albert Lea – Central Arizona CC
Reed Feeley, Albert Lea – Bellevue University
Luke Files, Bancroft – Hines CC
Alex Fischer, Storm Lake – Indian Hills CC
Wyatt Folsom, Carroll – Scott CC
Hampton Hall, Carroll – Scott CC
Spencer Hanson, Ames – Des Moines Area CC
Jameson Hart, Storm Lake – Indian Hills CC
Luke Hastings, Albert Lea – University of Mobile
Peyton Krugler, Ames – Iowa Central CC
Sean Rooney, Albert Lea – De Anza CC
Liam Spence, Albert Lea – Central Arizona CC
Sam Steinmeyer, Carroll – Iowa Lakes CC
Zacc Whisler, Carroll – Scott CC